Community Browser
Labels
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
swatts
5 Comments

Loosely speaking I've been running a LabVIEW User-Group (with a great deal of help from Adrian Brixton, NI (numerous), Chris Roebuck, James Powell and many others) for about 5 years now. Click here to see more.

And I'll be honest one of the main reasons for starting it was as a bit of marketing, but over the years it's become much more than that. So here's my thoughts about user groups.

Presentation Skills

If ever you have seen me do a presentation, it may come as a surprise that I have no formal training. I'm a programmer and never went to university, so from 18 I have mainly interacted with machines on the factory floor. The idea of presenting filled me with horror!

In my opinion being able to present your ideas comes shortly after having some ideas worth presenting. So you learn LabVIEW syntax, learn some ways to program, make a few mistakes, nurture some opinions-----> now you will benefit by being able to present.

And why is this important? $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

People will never know you have these ideas and the value of them unless you can present them.

A User Group is the best place to find your presenting mojo! and technical presenting is our forte, give us 10 minutes to describe how great our companies are and we'll struggle, give me 10 minutes on why I hate \user-lib and I'll hit you with slides, opinions, enthusiasm and maybe a few jokes.

Ideas Ideas Ideas

Generally a well organised user group is a friendly and supportive place, with people with ideas and experience at least on a par with yours. What better place to throw out a concept that may have never otherwise seen the light of day. I love the idea of academic discussions from professional programmers, this holds a great deal more meaning to me than academic discussions from people who have never had the pressure of deadlines, fixed prices or being paid by the hour to do work.