From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting thumbnailPhoto from Active Directory using LDAP

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

Using .NET and LDAP I'm able to obtain AD user info such as "displayName", "physicalDeliveryOfficeName", etc strings without issue. Using "thumbnailPhoto" I get a byte stream as expected, but I have not been able to convert this back into a picture. I have already tried using the PNG to LV Image.vi. It doesn't work in this instance. Any help would be appreciated. 

Thanks

reniam_1-1680018783233.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,143 Views)

I have no experience with this and a quick search did not show clear documentation for what the format of the data is (I assume it's this and it doesn't seem to specify a format), but it does show an example where it says it does work:

byte[] data = user.Properties["thumbnailPhoto"].Value as byte[];

if (data != null)
                        {
                            using (MemoryStream s = new MemoryStream(data))
                            {
                                return Bitmap.FromStream(s);
                            }
                        }

So presumably you just need to find the MemoryStream and Bitmap classes and do the same code. With the Bitmap class, I assume you can convert it to a more friendly format (worst case, you could probably save it to a file and read that).

Hi reniam,

could you please downconvert your VI for LV2019? Thanks!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,091 Views)