LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which liscence Do I need to Download Old Versions of LabView

Solved!
Go to solution

I am a graduate student working in a lab that uses NI hardware and software to collect data from an electrode array. My thesis involves modifying LabView Code to allow for more robust recording options. The problem is this system was developed a long time ago by a different lab. I have been told to avoid upgrading the drivers and runtime software on the recording computer as it could mess up our current system. This leaves my only choice to be compiling new software to work with the old drivers (LabView Runtime 8.2.1 and NI-DAQmx 14.2 are the main ones). The only way to do this as I understand is to compile the code using an older version of LabVIEW. I've tried following the steps here: https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA03q000000YHcjCAG&l=en-US but my problem is that we don't have an active service program and any of the people that would know about this are long gone (that's the nature of grad school). We could spare funds to purchase a license but I don't think that would even allow us to download an old version (https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Download-older-version/td-p/4220960)

Is having an active service program the only way to get an old version of LabVIEW? We don't need maintenance or anything, all we need is an old version of LabVIEW to modify and compile some code. All in all, I am new to this and very confused and could use some nudges in the right direction. I appreciate any help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(1,479 Views)

Yeah, having an active SSP is the only legal way to access the older versions of software.

Since someone from your Lab developed that software long ago, they must have had installed LabVIEW 8.2.1 somewhere, if you could find that computer and use it, it makes life easier.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies