LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multibutton App

Hello,

I'm new to Labview and I have some problems with my general app structure:

I have a app with multiple buttons. For each button I created an "Mouse Down" event. Because I want to have the possibility to press the Buttons multiple times, every event is in its own endless while loop. First of all, this works fine. But when I want to pass data out of the while loop to other events, I have a problem. The data will not leave the loop, because the loop never ends.

Now I have two questions:

1. Is my general software concept with multiple events in single while loops correct? Or is there a better solution?

2. If my concept is right, how can I pass data to other events? I know that I can use global variables, but for some datatypes, like VISA sessions, I found no matching datatype.

I attached an example for my problem.

I hope you can help me with this...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(1,359 Views)

Hi lvhvl,

@lvhvl wrote:

1. Is my general software concept with multiple events in single while loops correct? Or is there a better solution?

A better solution: use just one loop with an event structure. Handle all event cases in this event structure!

Your loop should never run "endless" (exept when running on a FPGA)…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(1,353 Views)

@lvhvl wrote:

I attached an example for my problem.

No you did not.

@lvhvl wrote:

For each button I created an "Mouse Down" event. Because I want to have the possibility to press the Buttons multiple times, every event is in its own endless while loop.