From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sharing a VISA refnum between two while loops.

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear Ben and Jeff! I do not want to argue over trifles. I have been working with Labview since 1998 🙂 And I am well aware of most methods of building projects. If the questioner does not know the basics of building a project in a Labview environment, you should not complicate learning.

Labview 4.0, 5.0, 6.1, 8.6, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014
If you do not know something, ask me.
0 Kudos
Message 21 of 26
(757 Views)

@Ben wrote:

@Borjomy wrote:

If the project is small, then it makes no sense to equip the library. This is an extra work. The main thing is that the exchange with devices connected to one VISA device should be done in one VI

All projects start small. What Jeff was suggesting is a Best Practice that I agree with strongly.

Thank you,

Ben

In parable form

You'd be surprised how many times you can re-use those simple libraries. Or create one from a CUSTOM Project Template that needs only minor changes.

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
Message 22 of 26
(753 Views)

Spoiler
Borjomy wrote:

Dear Ben and Jeff! I do not want to argue over trifles. I have been working with Labview since 1998 🙂 And I am well aware of most methods of building projects. If the questioner does not know the basics of

building a project in a Labview environment, you should not complicate learning.

OK, I'll trust you on that one. Smiley Wink

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
0 Kudos
Message 23 of 26
(746 Views)

@JÞB wrote: