cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generate One Pulse Per Second in LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I'm fairly new to LabVIEW and am trying to simulate a GPS 1PPS signal in LabVIEW for automation. I was able to get the 10 us pulse I needed, I just can't quite figure out how to get it to repeat the pulse every second that is needed.

I've attached my VI. I was able to use a LabVIEW example to help me get this far, just need to find a way to keep this running continuously.

Thanks so much for the assistance. Hopefully I'm just overthinking it.

Regards,

Liz

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,157 Views)

I don't think you'll get anywhere near the accuracy you'll need if you are to truly emulate a 1 PPS signal from a GPS.

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
My support system ensures that I don't look totally incompetent.
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
Humble author of the CLAD Nugget.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,145 Views)

Maybe use an arbitrary waveform generator?

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
Proud to say that I've progressed beyond knowing just enough to be dangerous. I now know enough to know that I have no clue about anything at all.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(2,142 Views)

Hi Bill,

I could try that. I was hoping a timing function would help me repeat it every second. Do you think that would be possible the way I currently have it set up?

Regards,

Liz

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(2,127 Views)

Well, as I mentioned before, if this is supposed to emulate a true 1 PPS signal, I don't think Windows is accurate enough to give you what you are looking for.

Bill
CLD
(Mid-Level minion.)
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 11
(2,085 Views)