LabVIEW Idea Exchange

About LabVIEW Idea Exchange

Have a LabVIEW Idea?

  1. Browse by label or search in the LabVIEW Idea Exchange to see if your idea has previously been submitted. If your idea exists be sure to vote for the idea by giving it kudos to indicate your approval!
  2. If your idea has not been submitted click Post New Idea to submit a product idea to the LabVIEW Idea Exchange. Be sure to submit a separate post for each idea.
  3. Watch as the community gives your idea kudos and adds their input.
  4. As NI R&D considers the idea, they will change the idea status.
  5. Give kudos to other ideas that you would like to see in a future version of LabVIEW!
Top Kudoed Authors
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW version alert

When you try to open VI saved with later version of LabVIEW, you get this error :

Sans titre.png

But when you open VIs in a given version with a later version of LabVIEW, you have no information and that could cause big problems.

For many reasons I have to work with different versions of LabVIEW (right now I have 8.6, 2010,2011 installed at the same time), and it's a major problem when I open a project and by mistake choose the wrong version of LabVIEW.

 

Someone proposed to display a saving selection popup Here

But when you have already made some modifications, it's enoying to discover that you won't be able to save it.

I propose instead to display a message when opening a VI, and let the user chosse either he want to upgrade is VI version or not.

At least he can see his mistake and decide to open the VI with the good version of LabVIEW.

 

 

7 Comments
Member

This is so annoying.

I would love for the Pop-up to have a button for each version of LV installed (that actually can open the VI) so I can select what version to open the VI with.

 

 

Knight of NI

The ideal solution would be LabVIEW that is both forward & backward compatible... but that's not going to happen.. Smiley Wink

 

I agree that this is annoying. Other than the proposed idea, I do not know what other way there is to prevent someone from opening a VI or project from an older version into a newer version..  Maybe have the popup message selectable in the options, so that you don't see the message all the time if you simply intend to update to the latest version.

 

Kudos.. Smiley Happy

______________________________________________________________________
Knight of NI

This idea has already been proposed a few times.

 

Wrong LabVIEW version alert

Warning when saving in LabVIEW later Version

Active Participant

Kudoed the oldest idea.

André Manzolli

Engenheiro Mecânico
Certified LabVIEW Developer - CLD
LabVIEW Champion
NI Employee
Member

@JordanG:

You linked the wrong idea under dupe... you linked a warning when saving but the OP talk about a warning when opening a vi... should be: Link from RavensFan's post

Example Gatekeeper
Status changed to: Duplicate