cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

valve sequencing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi!

I am relatively new to Labview (been doing some easy measurement (analog, digital,...) but have now stubled upon something new and don't know how to approach it. This is the problem:

Scan.jpg

I have 2 valves with 2 electromagnets. It the valve gets signal from left EM it goes into position 1, if it gets from right EM it goes to position 2. It there is no signal it stays in position 0. On the top with number 3 and 4 are inductive switches. So what I would like to do is next:

Stage 1: Valve1 and Valve2 both get in position 1 at the same time.

Stage 2: When top piston activates inductive switch (red number 4), Valve2 stays in position 0 for 2 seconds.

Stage 3: Both Valve1 and Valve2 go to position 2. (the top piston starts moving left)

Stage 4: When it activates inductive switch (red number 3), Valve 2 again stays in position 0 for 2 seconds.

Stage 5: The loop is repeated.

So the question is how to begin building code for sequencing. Should I build code in Flat Sequence Structure, Timed Sequence or something else?

Thanks for all the help you can give me.

Much appreciated!

Jure

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(2,721 Views)

@koli99 wrote:

[...] 

So the question is how to begin building code for sequencing. Should I build code in Flat Sequence Structure, Timed Sequence or something else?

Neither! You should learn about State Machines.

Richard

Message 2 of 16
(2,703 Views)

Indeed the best thing will be to use state machine.

I am attaching a simple VI that will demonstrate you the overall idea of state machine.

As you will see in the example, the most important parts of state machine are:

- an enum that will define you the states

- a case structure, you will pass the enum in a shift register and the case structure will choose to switch between cases.

Kind regards,

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(2,648 Views)