LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

serial scan until \r\n

Solved!
Go to solution

I am trying to log the serial data showing up in a text box indicator to a plain text file. I have accomplished this task, but now I need to make sure that a partial string will never be printed to the file. I need a way to scan the data and print it to the text file without only printing a part of the string. I have tried scanning for the \r\n termination characters but still, no luck. I am fairly new to Labview so any help would be appreciated. I am sure that this is easier than I am making it out to be.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 34
(4,125 Views)

I would check the string and search for a pattern (in your case, the End of Line Constant that can be found at the Programming >> String palette).
If the pattern is found, then you use the information. Otherwise, simply ignore it.

Take a look at the String functions inside the Programming Palette. Your journey starts there 😄

Regards

Mondoni
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 34
(4,116 Views)

That is what I thought I should do, however I'm not exactly sure how to do that. I have tried using case structures, but I am not exactly sure how to use them correctly. Can you tell me a little more about how I would go about doing this?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 34
(4,110 Views)

You can use the Search/Split String to locate the EOL characters.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 34
(4,101 Views)

So I don't need to use any case structures then?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 34
(4,098 Views)

You will probably need a case structure for when the EOL was or was not found.  But the case structure should not be comparing any strings.

GCentral