From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newbe help with understanding order of execution and timing

Hi,

I feel silly needing help with such a simple problem, but I'm new to labview and I'm having a hard time understanding using simple loops to time events.

here's the problem I'm trying to solve:

" build a disyplay with four LEDs; green, red, yellow, and orange. Design code to make the red and green LEDs flash alternelty in 10 seocond intervals.

The yellow LED will turn on everyother time the green LED is lit, but will stay on for only 5 seconds. The orange LED will flash in 1/2 Hz intervals for 7 seconds anfter the yellow LED has shut off. 

(Using loops and shift registers only) 

"

As you can see below I figured out how to make the red and green led part, but I loop for the yellow and orange LED is not working right at all.

The order in which the loops exicuite makes no sense to me coming from traditional programing.

Any help would be GREATLY apreicated,

Thank you!

HW3 example.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(3,333 Views)

Sometimes it helps to step back and focus on the Big Picture.

First, it looks like things are happening on a 1-second time scale.  Some LEDs turn on every 5 seconds and off five seconds later, some turn on a certain amount of time after something else happens, etc.