cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

labview randomly freezes in while loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to LabView, I like to think I've learned a lot through trial and error and reading this forum but I am stumped by something here. I hope somebody out there has some insight.

I have a program that controls a pump. I am communicating over a USB-to-serial cable. Typically the way my program works is that it sends a command to the pump, and then it immediately starts querying the pump for its status. I have the query in a loop that repeats every second. While the pump is moving it returns a Busy status, and when it finishes it returns a Ready status. When the program receives this Ready status, it exits the query loop and sends the next command.

I have a SubVI that queries the pump, and I use it in many places in my program. The problem is that while this works perfectly 95% of the time, 5% of the time the loop freezes for some reason. The timing of the freeze, location in the main program, and number of iterations of the loop that occur before the freeze are all random.

I have attached images of the front panel and block diagram of the subVI. The loop on the left is querying the pump, and the subVI within the subVI labeled as 2 is the communication with the pump over VISA. When I realized that the program was getting stuck in the loop I added the second (right) loop as a sort of "time out". If the program gets stuck at this point for a specified number of seconds, it should end the left loop. But that doesn't happen, the right loop stops but the left one never reads the True statement and stays stuck. LabView itself isn't frozen because I can go in and probe the wires.