From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to setup a queue with a multiple unit tester

Hello,

I am working on an automated tester for some units that my company manufactures.  I have all the code down for a test in the first position out of two positions.  I don't want the units to test simultaneously i want it to wait for unit 1 to finish before unit 2 starts vice versa.  Does anybody know the easiest way to achieve this?  I have only done single unit testers in the past so I have no experience working with queue's.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(2,891 Views)

Are you working with any DAQ hardware?  You shouldn't need to use queues to get software to execute in a certain order, you can just run the error line through your functions or use a flat sequence strucuture.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(2,874 Views)

If you really want to use queue's maybe you could enqueue a cluster. In the cluster you'd have an enum for the states and another enum to indicate which fixture to run. That way you can switch the fixture enum when the first unit is done testing. Does that make sense?

But, without knowing more its hard to say what you should do. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 21
(2,870 Views)

I am using daq ni usb-6501 to be exact, I am not having trouble with the order of operations of the test itself.  I have 2 buttons 1 to start each positionl, I want to be able to press them both, but have the tester wait until the first unit that is testing is finished.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 21
(2,862 Views)

Edit: Misread post, this comment was not applicable.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 21
(2,850 Views)

THis can be done explicitly or implicitly.

Inplicit