LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

compare and extract number from string

Hi, all

If I want to compare a requirement number and extract a number form a continuous data, . for example,

the string like this ( ******** 123 ******
                               *********456 ******
                               *********789*******)

and I have requiremnts that I need to extract the number is nearest greater 450, so in the above example, I need to pick 456.

How can I result it?

thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,686 Views)
here is one way to do it.

Paul
Message 2 of 18
(3,669 Views)

Thanks Pana

I nearly understand the method to solve the problem. But I am quite new in labview and I don't know some of the function you draw in jpg. Can you upload the Vi and have a look.

Thanks again.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 18
(3,659 Views)
Just extract all numbers into an array, then find the element with the smallest absolute difference. See attached (LabVIEW 7.0).

EDIT: Sorry, If by "Nearest greater" you mean the next higher number, you can use something like in my example II. (Also LabVIEW 7.0).

If you don't recognize an node, just right-click on it and select help. 🙂

You still need to add proper execption handling, e.g.:

• What if no element is greater?
  • What if there are multiple solutions?
  • What if the string does not contain any numbers?

Message Edited by altenbach on 10-13-2005 09:05 AM

Download All
Message 4 of 18
(3,652 Views)
The above example II matched "Nearest greater OR equal". If you want the next higher element if an element is equal to the comparison number, you an make a small modification as shown.
Message 5 of 18
(3,631 Views)
Thanks a lot and I can find the answer .

and I have another questions, still like this

I have a string for example( *****123**** (some number-such as 0.01%)****
                                             *****456**** (some number-such as 0.02%)****