From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

compare and extract number from string

Hi, all

If I want to compare a requirement number and extract a number form a continuous data, . for example,

the string like this ( ******** 123 ******
                               *********456 ******
                               *********789*******)

and I have requiremnts that I need to extract the number is nearest greater 450, so in the above example, I need to pick 456.

How can I result it?

thanks
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(3,683 Views)
here is one way to do it.

Paul
Message 2 of 18
(3,666 Views)

Thanks Pana

I nearly understand the method to solve the problem. But I am quite new in labview and I don't know some of the function you draw in jpg. Can you upload the Vi and have a look.

Thanks again.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 18
(3,656 Views)
Just extract all numbers into an array, then find the element with the smallest absolute difference. See attached (LabVIEW 7.0).

EDIT: Sorry, If by "Nearest greater" you mean the next higher number, you can use something like in my example II. (Also LabVIEW 7.0).

If you don't recognize an node, just right-click on it and select help. 🙂

You still need to add proper execption handling, e.g.:

• What if no element is greater?
  • What if there are multiple solutions?
  • What if the string does not contain any numbers?

Message Edited by altenbach on 10-13-2005 09:05 AM

Download All
Message 4 of 18
(3,649 Views)
The above example II matched "Nearest greater OR equal". If you want the next higher element if an element is equal to the comparison number, you an make a small modification as shown.
Message 5 of 18
(3,628 Views)
Thanks a lot and I can find the answer .