From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

accessing child class data with parent class static accessor

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to LVOOP. I am trying to create data accessors in the parent class (static) and use them in the child class. I don't need them to be dynamic becase the accessors are identical for child and parent. Is there a way to access data of a class without creating accessor for each class?

LVOOP.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(5,641 Views)

Sorry to say, but no.

One of the OOP implementation limits in LabVIEW is that all data access is private to the class.

So even under a parent - child relation, the data is private to each class, no sharing between the parent and child.

So the only way to access a childs data is to make accessors.

I don't see the point in not making them dynamic in your example

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(5,630 Views)

dkfire,

So then do I have to make dynamic accessors for parent and all children?

Why would I ever want to make any thing static? I guess the only use case is when you want to create a method that you know whill not change.

Why would I ever want to make an accessor static?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(5,620 Views)

The basic structure of the code in your original post seems reasonable (although I would probably change some of the I/O on the DD method, but that's not really relevant).