From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Screen to Screen (VI To VI) Navigation

Hi All,

I have worked in normal SCADA Systems. Assume that in a Project we have screens like, Plant Over View, Trend, Alarms etc... By configuring  buttons I can Navigate from one screen to other.

I'm new to Labview, with my understanding of labview, its screens are saved as ".vi" (ie; PlantOverView.vi, Trend.vi, Alarms.vi  etc..) . So I want to know how can I navigate from one screen (or vi) to other from the Front Panel?

If you have examples plz attach...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,526 Views)

I'm sorry, but I don't understand what you are asking about at all. What do you mean by "navigating" from one screen to another from the front panel? There are no "screens" in LabVIEW.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(3,523 Views)

Ok... I this I miss the architecture of Labview, but I want to learn it.

Assume that, I have lot of animation, Graphs, real time values to show. It is not possible to include all this in a single VI. So what you do is split the requirements, like animation in one VI then Graphs in other VI, right?

So when I'm running animation VI, how can I open Graphs VI?

Hope you understand?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,517 Views)

You can use a tab control. That would be the easiest way to do it. Look into a tab control. You can a property node to change the tab page which makes it seem like different windows.

Tim
GHSP
Message 4 of 10
(3,506 Views)