From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Planet Orbits

Hello, I am new to this, so if this has already been posted, I apologise. I was wondering if it would be possible to plot the orbits of the plants around the sun in LabVIEW using equation of motion. I have the general background knowledge of the physics about it, but I was wondering if it would be possible to actually program in LabVIEW.
Thanks for any feedback:)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,090 Views)

Yes, you can plot the orbits. Of course at any scale which will fit on a screen the orbits will look circular for most of the planets.

The XY graph is one way to show your results. The Polar Plot, Radar Plot, or 2D picture controls are other indicators which might be of use.

The type of coordinate system and the formulation of the equations of motion you use may depend on the type of graph or plot chosen.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,082 Views)

@johnsold wrote:

Yes, you can plot the orbits. Of course at any scale which will fit on a screen the orbits will look circular for most of the planets.

The XY graph is one way to show your results. The Polar Plot, Radar Plot, or 2D picture controls are other indicators which might be of use.

The type of coordinate system and the formulation of the equations of motion you use may depend on the type of graph or plot chosen.

Lynn

Thanks, I might have a mess around and see how it goes:)

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(3,073 Views)