LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modbus on LabVIEW

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, i'm pretty new to LabVIEW and i'm trying to create a code on LabVIEW to communicate with an heat pump. The heat pump is equipped with AER485P1 that allows to communicate with a RS485 network. The pump is connected to a NI 9871 module. The module is installed on a NI cRIO 9056 controller which is connected to my PC via an ethernet cable. I'm using LabVIEW 2021 and have installed Linux 21 System Image with all the add-ons on the cRIO controller.

My aim is to create a VI that can communicate with the heat pump but I have no idea of where I can start. 

I tried to look at the modbus libraries but couldn't figure out an easy way to do what i want. I only know some parameters that have to be set (baud rate, parity mode etc.) and the list of addresses

screenshot.PNG

I suppose i only have to create a Master Instance (the slave instance should be the pump) ?

masterinstance.PNG

I have followed this guide https://knowledge.ni.com/KnowledgeArticleDetails?id=kA00Z000000P7gZSAS&l=it-IT (I'm working in Scan Mode) but can't go further.

Can somebody help?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,236 Views)

@wingSs wrote:

Hi, i'm pretty new to LabVIEW and i'm trying to create a code on LabVIEW to communicate with an heat pump. The heat pump is equipped with AER485P1 that allows to communicate with a RS485 network. The pump is connected to a NI 9871 module. The module is installed on a NI cRIO 9056 controller which is connected to my PC via an ethernet cable. I'm using LabVIEW 2021 and have installed Linux 21 System Image with all the add-ons on the cRIO controller.

My aim is to create a VI that can communicate with the heat pump but I have no idea of where I can start. 

I tried to look at the modbus libraries but couldn't figure out an easy way to do what i want. I only know some parameters that have to be set (baud rate, parity mode etc.) and the list of addresses