LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Large size file memory problem?

Hello, i am really new to Labview, i am working on a VI written by a colleague and i have a problem I hope i will be able to explain clearly. I have a video composed of 10000 frames with 640x480 pixels and 8 bit grey scale values, i use a for loop to do some processing on each frame and write the resulting frames into a binary file of 10000 2d array (or, in another version, into an I16 file of 10000x640x480 elements). In a second VI i use another for loop to read each frame, calculate the mean value and write the mean value vs frame signal in a tds file. The problem is that when I read the signal file I see it stops at frame 3500 (it becomes a constant line) and starts again at frame 7000. Which could be the reason? I have Labview 2013 64 bit and Windows 64 bit. Thanks in advance, massimiliano.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(1,708 Views)

Hi massimiliano,

Massi@INO wrote:
The problem is that when I read the signal file I see it stops at frame 3500 (it becomes a constant line) and starts again at frame 7000. Which could be the reason?

Maybe this Matlab script, which uses that "VideoReader()" function, is the reason!?

That's the only function which is used to actually read the video frames…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(1,651 Views)

Gerd suggestions is a good one, but I cannot really help you with that.

Looking at the LabVIEW code, many things seems highly flawed.

Step 1 binary:

• Why is "Numero Frame"  not an integer?
  • Why are the DISTAZA and "Input file" terminals inside the loop? Are you expecting them to change during the loop?
  • Index array is resizable, but to get the number of element from a multidimensional array is just to apply this function to the array of sizes (see picture below).