LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In-Place Element Structures, References and Pointers, Compiler Optimization, and General Stupidity

[The title of this forum is "Labview Ideas". Although this is NOT a direct suggestion for a change or addition to Labview, it seems appropriate to me to post it in this forum.]

In-Place Element Structures, References and Pointers, Compiler Optimization, and General Stupidity

I'd like to see NI actually start a round-table discussion about VI references, Data Value references, local variables, compiler optimizations, etc. I'm a C programmer; I'm used to pointers. They are simple, functional, and well defined. If you know the data type of an object and have a pointer to it, you have the object. I am used to compilers that optimize without the user having to go to weird lengths to arrange it. 

The 'reference' you get when you right click and "Create Reference" on a control or indicator seems to be merely a shorthand read/write version of the Value property that can't be wired into a flow-of-control (like the error wire) and so causes synchronization issues and race conditions. I try not to use local variables.