From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Element insertion in Arrays

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to LabVIEW, I go through certain LabVIEW online free tutorials and videos. I am trying to to do, in front panel user tell the dimensions of the array, then he inserts each element one by one and program should wait for user next value, to doing so I used two far loops to cater row and column and while loop to wait for user values.
Problem is it just get one value from me and then program stops and shows the array with only last index number new element. I hope I explained my problem well.
I am sorry, if I am in the wrong section.it's my first time to ask for help in the online community, looking for the best response. I have attached my LabVIEW file.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,033 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Moonnight786

Hi Moonnight,

wh do you need all this stuff to fill a 2D array with user input?

Use autoindexing!

check.png

(You should rethink the inner while loop: it might be annoying not being able to input the same number for the next element…)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 10
(3,027 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Moonnight786

@Moonnight786 wrote:

I am sorry, if I am in the wrong section.it's my first time to ask for help in the online community, looking for the best response. I have attached my LabVIEW file.

This is exactly the right place, BTW.

The problem get's easier when you get to know (and properly use) the event structure.

To get to understand data flow, try the execution highlight. That will probably show you why the program stops and only returns one element.

0 Kudos