LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Convert a text file to Xslx

Hello,

Im new to Labview, though I have good knowledge in several coding languages. Im trying to figure a way to convert a txt file to an excel one. The text file is created by my original Labview program so Im trying to add a step where the text file gets converted to an excel. The text file is already separated with tabs (see attached files). When I open it using Microsoft Excel, It's all in order and good, but for several reasons, I need the program to create for me directly a .xslx file rather than a txt one even if it can be opened by excel correcly.
Attached to my message you'll find the text file I'm trying to convert and the VI I'm trying to use for that (You'll also find a screenshot of this VI in case of you need it)

I'm struggling with this for days and I'd really appreciate your help. 

PS: ActiveX or RGT solutions are too complicated for me, and i think my case is not complicated since the txt file is easy to work with.

Thank you all !

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,691 Views)

Hi haamza,

ActiveX or RGT solutions are too complicated for me, and i think my case is not complicated since the txt file is easy to work with.

Well, the answer is: to create (real) Excel files you need to remotely command Excel to create them - using RGT or ActiveX!

When you really don't want to go this way you could buy any of those toolkits available in VIPM which help you to access Excel files. I can recommend XLR8 as an easy-to-use tool…

On your VI: just because of using "XLSX" as file extension doesn't make your spreadsheet file into a real Excel file! With WriteDelimitedSpreadsheet you create CSV (or TSV) files - please name them so!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(3,690 Views)

Thanks for your response.