cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

*Complete Newbie* Using raspberry pi to forward readings live to a server

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello

I am completely new to LabVIEW, and have some limited programming knowledge in python and C. 

I am looking for a little help. I have a program written by someone else gathering strain gauge data through NI 9219 modules which is then connected to a laptop over Ethernet (from a 9188) and assembled into a CSV file. In order to generate the CSV, the program must be stopped, the file written, and the program restarted. It also requires a dedicated laptop to do this. 

I have a requirement for the data to be sent live to a server, and would like to free up the laptop too as using it has it's own set of problems. I want to use a raspberry pi to take the data from the loggers and send it on live over WiFi to our server rather than the current system. 

The trouble is I am a bit out of my depth here... Is what I am trying to do even possible? And, if so, do I have it right that the correct way would be to connect to the 9188 (how?) with the Raspberry, assemble the values into a string (using python?), and forward them directly to our server? 

Apologies for the complete "novice" questions and lack of understanding. But any help or advice that could be given would be very much appreciated! 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,531 Views)

There is some basic LabVIEW for the Raspberry Pi (Linx), but there is no way to use NI hardware like the 9219 directly with the Raspberry Pi.

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,517 Views)

Really? I am surprised. Are these modules compatible only with LabVIEW installed on a laptop? I am guessing that the syntax etc for the NI kit is not open? 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,514 Views)

@Fall-Apart-Dave wrote: