LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Absolute encoder

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to labview but I got a grasp on the basis.

I am trying to get a linear position info from an absolute encoder but not succeeding. I try to use the VISA but didn't work.

Also when using the DAQ assistant, the encoder is not listed.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

PS: the encoder is from Renishaw company:

http://www.renishaw.com/en/resolute-take-the-product-tour--10940

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(4,385 Views)

Hi Schindfj,

how is your encoder connected to your computer? Which port do you use?

- The DAQAssistent is made for DAQmx devices. DAQmx is a driver for (only) NI DAQ devices.

- VISA is used for other ports like GPIB, RS232/COM, and some more. See my question above…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 20
(4,380 Views)

Oh right, I wanted to specified it but forgot, my bad.

Well, the encoder has a 9-pin serial end, which is connected to an interface (serial to USB), in order to connect it to the computer by usb.

This is the interface

http://www.rls.si/e201-usb-encoder-interface-123

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 20
(4,372 Views)

Hi Schindfj,

then it's up to you to determine the serial protocol used by your encoder: Resolute lists a few of them…

When you are sure about that you need to either find a ready-to-use driver for your sensor or to program your own driver based on that protocol. (You need to use VISA functions as it's the serial port your sensor uses.)

Best regards,
GerdW

Message 4 of 20
(4,366 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thanks for your answer!

I am gonna work on that and come back if I happen to have more questions, which is very likely 😄

Cheers

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 20
(4,361 Views)

Well I am not succeeding to do anything... I guess i'll have to find another way

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 20
(4,330 Views)

Hi Schindfj,

ask your vendor? Read the manual?