LabVIEW for LEGO MINDSTORMS and LabVIEW for Education

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

reading an analog voltage using LabVIEW and an EV3

Hi, I'm a physics professor, familiar with LabVIEW for experimental control and data acquisition for around 20 years.

We have been using Lego Mindstorms robots for over 10 years to have a fun team project at the end of our Electronics course.  Students are supposed to design some sort of new sensor, and then have the robot respond to that sensor in some way.  In the past, we were using the NXT bricks, and it was simple to read an analog voltage into the brick, and then proceed with programming in LabVIEW.

This year, we are using the EV3 robots for the first time, and I have gotten completely stuck at reading an analog voltage in using the EV3 bricks and LabVIEW.  I know the pinouts of the cables connecting the brick to the sensors.  I've tested the system with something simple like a voltage from a potentiometer going into the analog input pin -- this works immediately and easily in the Lego EV3 software.  I can read either the raw or the scaled value.

However, I cannot figure out anyway in LabVIEW to do this same task.  

I investigated the subVIs for the various forms of the polymorphic ReadSensor.vi, and mostly they seemed to use "Setup Sensor Port" coupled with "Read Generic Sensor".  So I've set up a test vi just combining those two subVIs, but I don't get any reading.  I thought that my problem must be that somehow I was not setting up the sensor port correctly, but I've tried all the options that I can see, and still I don't see any meaningful values coming out of the Read Generic Sensor vi.  The raw value typically reads 0, but sometimes will flicker between 3 and 4, but with no apparent relationship to the voltage that I'm applying to the AI pin, so I think this is just noise of some sort.

Thanks for any suggestions.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(8,584 Views)

Hi syl89,