LabVIEW for LEGO MINDSTORMS and LabVIEW for Education

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating New Blocks for LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT

The most advanced capability of the toolkit is the ability to create blocks for LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT. The goal for this part of the toolkit was to expose the capabilities that the development team had during the MINDSTORMS NXT Software 1.0 development process. Building the blocks requires an intermediate knowledge with LabVIEW and there are interesting caveats that you'll uncover. Post your questions and issues here. This board will be monitored by NI Applications Engineers and members of the development team.

Thanks and enjoy expanding the MINDSTORMS Software.

John Field
MINDSTORMS Software Group Manager
LabVIEW R&D
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 45
(29,792 Views)

I'm still pretty new to LabVIEW, so forgive me if this question is obvious.

In the NXT Toolkit, there is a block called "NXT_RotationSensor.vi"  I'd like to use that, but I want it to output a signed count, instead of a count +direction.

So, if I add this output to the VI, how will it affect other things?  Will it affect anything else?

Next, if I don't change the block, and want to send an NXT-G block I've made based on the "normal" NXT_RotationSensor.vi to someone who has the DBU installed, will I have to include the block?

Thanks

Steve

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 45
(29,699 Views)
As a general rule, you probably shouldn't change the implementation of anything in vi.lib because (as you mention) this makes it hard to share code. I'd recommend creating a new VI that includes NXT_RotationSensor.vi where you compute the outputs that you want. Then, when you distribute your block, make sure to share your new VI as well.

- john
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 45
(29,690 Views)

That's what I thought, thanks.

Steve

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 45
(29,688 Views)
Please disregard; I put this in the wrong thread.

Message Edited by madengr on 12-11-2006 04:37 PM