cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

strain amplification using cDAQ

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am a newbie in using DAQ's and hope some one can help me out.

I recently bought a cDAQ with NI 9237 to measure strains. The strains that I am looking to measure are very small 1 micro strain. A little bit of research showed me that I need to amplify the signal to measure such small strains (correct me if I am wrong). However I am not able to find any amplifiers for the cDAQ.So, the questions I have are -

1. Is it possible to measure such small strains (1 micro strain) using the cDAQ ? If so, do I need an amplifier ?

2. If I need an amplifier, are there specific ones for the cDAQ  with the 9237 ? If not, where/how can I get one ?

Thanks,

Sid

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(6,764 Views)

Sid,

Although it is possible, I would try to avoid amplifying if possible unless completely necessary.  It will only serve to add extra noise considerations to your readings.

The 9237 is a 24bit resolution module and should be able to measure precisely enough to meet your requirements if paired with the correct strain gauge.   There are many different types of strain gauges and your ability to measure this precisely will depend on the output from the strain gauge.  The 9237 module has an input range of +/- 25mV/V.  There should be plenty of gauges (you will have to look at the specs) to offer the precision you want in that range.    Keep in mind, you need to choose to measure very precisely over a small range or less precisely over a larger range, you can't have both!

Regards,

Peter C.
Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(6,744 Views)

Hello Peter,