NI Linux Real-Time Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installing drivers for USB devices on myRIO

Hi,

I would like to install the driver for a USB device on the myRIO. The driver file is attached.

I have no prior experience in Linux. Would greatly appreciate if anyone can advise on how to install the driver onto the myRIO.

I have tried the steps listed in https://decibel.ni.com/content/docs/DOC-34827 and it appears that the device is not listed, so a driver installation may be necessary.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(6,049 Views)

It looks as if your best bet is to compile the module on the target itself. It's going to take a bit of work since the headers and tools are not exactly at standard locations on the targets, but we've written up a guide to get experienced kernel folks what they need. And really, this sort of thing  should have someone who's at least a bit experienced working with kernel builds looking at this.

Tutorial: Adding Kernel Modules on NI Linux Real-Time

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,325 Views)

Thanks. I'll do some read up.

I noticed the driver packages comes with 4 "makefile" file. Do we need to create a makefile according to the tutorial, or can we make use of the packaged makefile?

If we're writing the makefile, do we need to write a makefile for each ".c" file in the folders?

Much thanks for any advice.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,325 Views)

I would recommend taking the existing makefile for the driver module (the one under the driver folder) and adjust it for your needs.

When you first posted this question, I quickly got something building but, without hardware, I had no way to test it. I basically made sure that the environment was configured as described in the document I linked and adjusted the makefile to match where things were located on disk (and the version of the kernel).

I'm on holiday right now, but if you're still stuck next week I can check back in

0 Kudos