Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sampling in DAQ 6368

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm doing a DAQ loop back by forcing a sine wave on analog output and capturing at the AI. to match the coherency and get a single tone in the FFT power spectrum. Im struggling a lot and im new to both signal processing and using DAQ. So, please help me to understand the sampling rate and frequency bins in Labview VI terms.

I have written a simple DAQ loop back program i wonder why coherency is not good. And im not able to see a single peak at my frequency designed. Please have a look at my code and any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,384 Views)

Per Nyquist, you have to sample a signal at over 2 times the signal bandwidth in order to be able to do a spectral analysis.  So since you are sampling at 500kHz, the maximum frequency you can detect is 250kHz.  Your signal is at 500kHz, so it will actually show up at DC in your FFT.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(4,361 Views)

Hi Thanks for your reply,

I made the Sampling frequency at capture side equal to 10 times of source sampling side. and still i see a spectral leakage at the frequency bin.and there is still no clue y it is happening. I guess i should increase the number of samples being captured or something like that. Please correct if i am doing something wrong

vi.pngvi2.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(4,358 Views)

It looks like you have aliasing from your Analog Output.  Notice the spikes are around ~5kHz (your output frequency) on each side from 80kHz (your analog output sample frequency).  This is quite normal.