Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQ - Brewery

Hello NI community,

I'm brand new here and would like to introduce myself and give you some info about our project. I am currently studying for my masters and we are going to set up a small brewery in our university. The reasons for this are scientific as well as a passion for brewing. We are in a cooperation with a private beer manufactory that will support us with all the brewery equipment (brewhouse etc.) . The goal is to monitor the equipment and also at best to make it online controllable. Also the complete data of the brewing process should always be stored. Enclosed you will find an overview of the sensors and signals we want to process.

To my questions, if you were building a brewery DAQ system, what components would you install from NI?
We want to build a LabView program to track the entire brewing process and certainly want to tie it into a database for a Big Data project.

I'm just getting into the topic, but some discussion on the components and how you guys would install/plan a DAQ would be super helpful to me.

I would have thought of a USB-6255 or similar but how do I route all the signals collectively to the USB-6255.

I would be very happy and remain with kind regards
Lorenz

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(1,247 Views)

Looks like you've got a big system to put together and there are a lot of current loop sensors/actuators.

USB-6255 is not best suited for current loop sensors/actuators. Based on this exhaustive list of items to control and monitor, you need a lot better instrument selection, typically a cDAQ with a lot of modules.

Do you have a specific budget? Who is going to do the wiring and write the application?

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions