Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Understanding L293D datasheet

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi. I am new to electronics, which I have found to be interesting and worthwhile and I have some trouble in understanding the entries in the L293D datasheet. Below are my doubts. Please don't mind if they are too small.

Thank you in advance

1)      In the L293D datasheet, it has been given that, L293D has over-temperature protection.

What do they mean by this? i.e. will L293D switch off automatically when it reaches a particular temperature, if yes, then how does it know the temperature, & how to know the temperature limit?

Or, is there some other thing?

2)              In the L293D datasheet, it has been given that; L293D has ‘INTERNAL CLAMP DIODES’. What do they mean by this?

3)              In the L293D datasheet, it has been given that; L293D has ‘ENABLE FACILITY’. What do they mean by this?

4)              In the L293D datasheet, it has been given that, L293D has 1.2A maximum current output per channel (non-repetitive). What do they mean by saying ‘NON-REPETITIVE’. Do they mean that 1.2A will not be available always but it may be available sometimes? If yes, then what is the use I it?

Or, simple put, how to use this information?

5)              In the L293D datasheet, it has been given that,  PUSH-PULL FOUR CHANNLE DRIVER. What does it mean?

6)              In the L293D datasheet, it has been given that, 16th pin is used for Vss. i.e. Logic Supply voltage. What is it used for?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(7,122 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Ekalvya

1. Yes, it will quit driving the load when the chips internal temperature sensor exceeds the setpoint. Not sure of what that setpoint is.

2. The diodes protect the driving transistors from voltage spikes that occur when power is switched off to the motor coil.