LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

wind speed program

Hello. I have NI 6356 and a wind sensor from https://moderndevice.com/product/wind-sensor/ and i want to use labview to get the wind speed display.

The problem i encounter is when i supply the voltage to the sensor and the result i got is negative. May i have some advice on the wiring and program?

I wire the wind sensor GND to AO GND, V+ to AO 0, and Out to AI 1+

as for the VI, I used 2 DAQ assistance. 1 used the Generate singal > Analog Output > Voltage > AO 0 to supply voltage.

the other is Acquire signal > analog input > voltage > AI 1 to display on the graph.

As i needed to calibrate the sensor, so i supply 0.5V to the sensor to zero the wind speed. But the display will always show negative value.

May i have some advice on it? sorry that i'm quite new to labview and daq system.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,897 Views)

Have you tried swapping the analog input signal leads?

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(3,884 Views)
Hello Mike.

Swapping the analog input signal leads as in change to another AI port? Or do I need to wire the AI - as well? Because currently I only wire to AI +.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(3,864 Views)
Your description says you are powering the sensor with an AO port, and reading the data with an AI. You need to have both sides of the AI wired one side to the signal one side to analog ground.

Are you acquiring data single-ended or differentially? I sorry, I should have asked that first. How long is the wire between the sensor and the DAQ device reading it? If it is more than a foot or so you should be reading differentially.

Mike...

LabVIEW Champion

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 16
(3,845 Views)