LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

which NI devices should I buy and how to start with?

Greetings!

I am an undergraduate who is trying to design a control system which can measure chemical solution conductivity as well as PH value; besides, based on those values, we need to control 4 valves to open and close so that acid, base, water,and salt from 4 tanks can flow into the main pipe.

Question: Which NI device should I buy and start with? The devices have to have at least 4 input/output, do you have any suggestion, Thank you very much!!

I am also new to LabVIEW, so any extra suggestion would be greatly appreciated!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,897 Views)

thank you but can that measurment device connect Solenoid Valve and send pulse to command it open and close? If so, what kind of output? 12DC or 12AC or something else?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(2,890 Views)

You populate the rack with modular I/O to your requirements.,

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(2,883 Views)

There is also the myDAQ system available at very cheap for students. It is very basic, with 2 analog inputs, 2 analog outputs and 8 digital input/output lines. But it might meet your imediate needs. You can find more info here.

The cDAQ system suggested by a previous poster is a much better option in the long run, provided there is funding for new I/O modules. However, you will be able to aqcuire from both devices simultaneously, should you decide to start with the myDAQ and buy the cDAQ later.

Note: I suggest the myDAQ on the assumption that the solenoid valves will be operatable by the digital output channels, i.e that they are "binary valves".

Best regards,

Jarle Ekanger, MSc, PhD, CLD
Flow Design Bureau AS

- "The resistance of wires in LabVIEW is not dependent on their length."
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 12
(2,852 Views)

You can perhaps try out the embedded version of NI's RIO platform.

http://sine.ni.com/nips/cds/view/p/lang/sv/nid/205721

Br,

/Roger

0 Kudos