From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

reading the first character in every row

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello!

I have a problem with reading a text file in LabView which I am sure is pretty easy to do but since I'm really new to labview (and programming at all) I am having a hard time figuring it out.

So basically I am using the "write to measurement file" VI to write some test results into a text file. I am just getting ones and zeros so the text file looks something like this:

and so on . 

I would then like to import these values to labview but I dont want the decimals and I would like everything on the same row, something like this:

1 0 1 0 etc etc.

(the idea is then being able to convert the values to a hexadecimal number 1-F, so for example the input above would translate to 6.)

I've tried to use the read from text file function but I don't know how to then convert the input to my desired format.

Also if you have any clue on how to make it start reading at the first 1 and then read the next 4 inputs that would be great as well.

Any help is really appreciated! 🙂

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,044 Views)

Hi Tob,

use ReadFromSpreadsheetFile and read your data as INTEGER. Then index the first column…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 15
(3,024 Views)

Hello, 

thanks for the reply! Is this what you are suggesting?

vi.png

vi2.png

I have tried something similar before but as you can see I dont get what I want.. Feels like Im missing something, you have any idea what? 

Thanks again!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(2,996 Views)