cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"Event structure" can't work in "While Loop"

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone.

I'm new to LabVIEW and I'm learning how to use the real-time PC to output analog voltage from the data in an array. I'm now first want to create an array. I want to make it clear for users to manipulate so my desire is: when click "RESET" button, all the numerics and the array are initialize(typically all set to "0") and when click "START" they are able to create the specific array I need. And now I meet 3 questions:

1. My current understanding is to use "Event Structure" in a "While loop" to achieve my goal. But when I start compiling and then run the VI the button can't work. when I take the code out of the "Event structure" it can run as I wish. 

2. I wrote the program out of the real-time target and made it an independent vi it could run. But when I inserted it under the target category it couldn't work. Now neither opening it in my host computer nor writing a new one can't work.

3. I try to test out and put the button in a "while loop" it could be clicked but when add an "Event structure" it can't run as I wish.

Hereby are my files.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 23
(2,910 Views)

A RT target does not have a UI, so an event structure is useless.

You should eliminate all your value property nodes. There is absolutely no need for them!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 23
(2,875 Views)

Unfortunately programming such a system on an RT device is a bit more complicated. 

If you're always going to be controlling it from a desktop applications (or development environment) you probably want to look at the options for inter target communication. 

Here are some links you might find helpful. 

https://learn-cf.ni.com/teach/riodevguide/guide/rt-pc_inter-target-communication.html

http://www.ni.com/product-documentation/53345/en/

GCentral
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 23
(2,861 Views)