From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problem with VISA read

dear all,

I have a problem with my labview. I need to read a data from spectrophotometer using rs232 and display the data using labview. I have design a few block diagram. the first one is

1.png

the problem with this diagram is VISA READ timeout. the second one is

2.png

when i run this diagram, no error occured but there is ni reading/output reading at the READ BUFFER, supposely, it have to display the value. 

im still new with labview..can everyone help me???

tq

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(4,348 Views)

You're just trying to read the serial port.  With your instrument, do you need to send a command to it to have it be able to return data?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(4,343 Views)

im sorry because im not really sure about it. because i refer from the thesis. i followed the instruction exactly as in the thesis.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(4,336 Views)

A thesis might be good to get a grade in school.  But you are dealing with a real world instrument.  You need to read the manual for that instrument.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(4,332 Views)

Dont use while loop and use simple error handler and read the error generated. Let me know what is that. Or post the VI in 2011 format.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kudos are always welcome if you got solution to some extent.

I need my difficulties because they are necessary to enjoy my success.
--Ranjeet
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 15
(4,325 Views)

I already read the manual for spectrophotometer. I also ask my lecturer about the instrument. I think there is a problem with my diagram.

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 15
(4,316 Views)