LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

measure calibrated magnitude of 2 mouse displacement 2 determine axis of rotation

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

like other posters I am very new to LabView, so if this is a really simple problem, please have discretion and still try and point me in the right direction- thank you!

I am trying to measure magnitude of optical mouse displacement by calibrating to a micropositioner.  

I have attached the VI below - the original VI was a position sensing VI that was available on the forums - 

Basically the problem that I have right now is that I need only the first value that goes into the shift register however it continuously outputs the values when the enter key is not held down.

Eventually I would like to measure the displacement of 2 mice simultaneously to determine an axis of rotation and angular displacement, but I'm not sure how to acquire the position of two mice, so if you have a suggestion for this problem i'd really appreciate that also.

Thank You!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,937 Views)

here's the VI

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,936 Views)

You did not include the subVIs so it is difficult to tell what your VI is doing.

Both of the Acquire Input Data VIs will return a value every time the loop iterates. It may be the previous value or it may be a default value or it could be something else. Does the VI generate some kind of signal to indicate that the data is valid or has been updated?

It looks like you have two different subVIs with the same name, one for the keyboard and one for the mouse.  That can create problems.  Rename at least one of them.

Do you need to Close the reference to the keyboard just as you do for the mouse?

Mouse positions are determined by the OS and passed to the application.  I do not think the OS distinguishes between multiple mice.  When I use two mice and move both simultaneously, the cursor gets very confused and so do I.  

Lynn

0 Kudos