From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to make a loop run for specific period of time ?

Solved!
Go to solution

hello !

i'm new to labview and could'nt found how to make a loop run for 2 sec for example, and then to exit.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(11,144 Views)

You can use a for loop, wire the N terminal (number of iteration) and add a timing function into the loop (wait until next (ms) multiple)

Rodéric L
Certified LabVIEW Architect
Message 2 of 11
(11,142 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author hookso

Hi Hookso,

You can do it using the different loops like While loop and For Loop. Roderic has already stated how to do it using a for loop. I have illustrated in the attached vi how to do it using a while loop and Elapsed Time function. Take a look.

Regards,

Nitzz

(Give kudos to good Answers and Mark it as a Solution if your problem is Solved;)) 

Message 3 of 11
(11,129 Views)

Assuming that you want to put other code in the loop, you could use the elapsed time VI and wire the loop termination to the timer, or open it and look at how it works then base your own code on it

elapsed time.png

Or you could look at timed structures (sub palette in structures). It depends on how you intend to use the delay. Any more info?

The right answer here is it depends on what you are going to do. I think I would use something like this:

Example_VI_BD.png