LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fft find frequency

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to Labview. I need to plot the data (2 cols, one is time, x array, the other one is signal intensity,y array)provided by my instructor in time domain, which I already did. Then I need to convert the data into frequency domain. What should I do? I tried FFT function for my y array. But how can I find out the frequency informaiton?  From the x array, I know it's sampling rate is 2500Hz. T= 40s, N=100,000. the effective maxmium frequency should be 1250Hz, right?

And I also need to isolate the 1000Hz signal... I am totally confused.

Hope you can help me. Thanks in advance.

John

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(6,152 Views)

John,

your VI fails as you obviously haven't taken into account that FFT (mathematical) always returns complex numbers.

That being said, you are looking for "power spectrum".

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22
(6,122 Views)

Norbert,

Thanks for your reply.

I am suppose to get a power spectrum. But what makes me confused is the frequency axis. Am I on the right track?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 22
(6,109 Views)

Please search for a function "power spectrum" instead of using the basic FFT.

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 22
(6,100 Views)

Thanks.

Could you please look at my vi. ?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 22
(6,095 Views)

Hi Norbert,

I tried many times today. 

Do I need to do a FFT before I feed the array to power spectrum function or feed the raw data(in time domain) directly to it?

What's the x-axis? time domain or frequency domain?

Thanks a lot.

John

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 22
(6,066 Views)