From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

daqmx and while loops.

Solved!
Go to solution

Skjermbilde.PNG

im quite new to labview. the code is for illustrating my question, i know it has many faults. I only have a trial version on the computer which write this topic, so i dont have daqmx vi's, so i made a subvi to illustrate the daqmx that gets the samples.

-the lower loop is free running

-ive set sample rate to 40khz

-the upper loop i use to log data from 29 AI channels and draw fft for 1 AI channel every 1 sec

-the intention behind the two loop strategy is to get the necesary sample rate for fft (i need to detect up to 10khz), while using as little resources as possible

-the queues is meant to be a fifo, storing X number samples (havent done the math yet to how many needed)

my question is this: 

if the lower (free running) while loop is running faster than 40khz, will i then get several element with the same timestamp in the fifo? 3 element of timestamp 1.000, 3 element of timestamp 1.002 etc etc.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(4,391 Views)

I'm not sure if I don't understand your question or if you don't understand how Data Acquisition works, or both (I'm pretty sure at least one is correct).  I'm going to ignore your code pictures, and try to explain some things.

• A DAQ device, if it is any good, has a very accurate clock, so all of the samples are acquired at sequential (and unique) times.  [I'm only talking about a single channel -- for multi-channel DAQ, the samples can be acquired simultaneously or sequentially across channels, but even there, for a single channel, all of the acquisition "instants" are different and sequential.