LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

converting .vi to an executable

Hello,

I'm a little new to LabVIEW and programming in general.

I've written my first LabVIEW program ( single VI-Lab View 2015) controlling instrumentation.

I now want to be able to run this single .vi as an executable.

After I do this -be able to run this program on an independent computer that only has national instruments max Explorer with the driver GPIB-USB-HS?

So if the answer to the previous question is yes, then could somebody give me the step-by-step procedure to convert my single VI to the executable?

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,195 Views)

You need to do this.

Example.png

You will be prompted to make a project. Don't forget you will need the runtime engine to run this exe on a different computer. That is an additional program for NI Max.

Tim
GHSP
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,180 Views)

Note, the application builder is a separate purchase from just the core LabVIEW; follow this link if you don't have it installed.

https://www.ni.com/en-us/shop/select/labview-application-builder-module

Also, after you build an executable, i'd recommend you build an installer.  This will allow you to include the drivers with the executable.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(3,147 Views)

thank you very much for the reply,

I'd like to ask one or two more basic questions because I'm still a little bit confused..

I was under the hopeful impression that I could convert a LabVIEW VI into an executable run only standalone program,

without purchasing the LabVIEW runtime engine?

Any clarification of this would be very helpful, thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(2,746 Views)

@chrlum47 wrote:

thank you very much for the reply,

I'd like to ask one or two more basic questions because I'm still a little bit confused..

I was under the hopeful impression that I could convert a LabVIEW VI into an executable run only standalone program,