From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

convert a hex string to bytes/values

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi

Sorry for what it seems a basic question (I am an amateur in bytes and stuff).

I read some info from an instrument through a TCP Visa connection. Data is read either as Ascii or Bin as follows

To distinguish between ASCII command and binary data from the instrument each data block is transmitted in the following format:
0 1 2 3 4…Len+4
TypeHi TypeLo LenHi LenLo Data
LenHi, LenLo contain length of the Data part of the message, TypeHi, TypeLo determine the type:
• TypeHi = 55h, TypeLo = AAh – ASCII command, Data part of the message contains the ASCII string
(transferred string is not terminated by CR!).
• TypeHi = 66h, TypeLo = BBh – binary command, Data part of the message contains the binary
stream data.

I have difficulties in reading these. an exemple of what I tryin (without success) is attached here (not of much use but it gives an exemple of what the instrumet sends back).

Thanks for help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(1,630 Views)

Looks like the numbers are formatted as comma delimited decimal integers in the string, not flat binary. What values do you expect for your example string?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(1,623 Views)

The string received should be something like PRESNC:-412,-412 but includes a header marker like "55AA" for a ASCII and two bytes stating the length of the string submitted.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(1,615 Views)

In the doc I have this, but as I am noob, I don't know how to handle it :

nitad54448_0-1647364041395.png

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(1,609 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author nitad54448