Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XY scan and Dynamic data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to Labview.

I am scanning an electron beam across a surface while counting a signal. I have Labview programs which acquire an XY Graph (X = time, and Y = counts) keeping beam position constant, but I now wish to acquire an image which shows the counts at each point in a raster scan. I am displaying two images in the attached file, one is a dummy and seems to work. However, the dynamic data output from the DAQ seems to cause a series of horizontal lines in the image. I suspect I am not fully understanding how dynamic data works.

Thanks in advance

Chris

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,232 Views)

Yo.u talk about a Scan and an electron beam -- I'm guessing that the beam "scans" at a constant rate, and the values that you get represent data taken at equally-spaced time intervals.  This is usually called a Waveform (LabVIEW-ese for a Time Series) with a fixed sampling interval ("dt"), and is usually plotted on a Chart (since all time intervals are the same, there is only one "real" variable, the data ("Y").

You now talk about a Raster Scan, which I assume means "The beam sweeps left-to-right, returning a Time Series of data, then drops down a bit in Y and does it again, and again, until it has swept out a rectangular area (not unlike how old TVs worked)."

Is this what you are talking about?  Just thinking about the data, let's say a sweep gives you 640 8-bit values, and the beam can take on 480 different sweep "heights".  What you'll have is a 640x480 set of data, each representing an 8-bit value.  Let's assign the value (numbering 0 .. 255) to a shade of grey, with 0 being black and 255 being white.  Let's call the 640x480 measurements "Pixels".  Yep, you have just created a Grey-scale Image (provided you color each Pixel by its 8-bit value).

Is this what you are doing?