cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Write to Spreadsheet adding extra rows in csv file

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I am creating a program which measure current over time.  It is working well, but when I write to spreadsheet, there are extra rows between the row of data.

I created a header file, which is passed into the while loop where data is entered into an array and then entered into the spreadsheet.  If I simply display the array, there are no extra rows, but when I open the csv file in excel, there are more rows.  I am pretty new to labview, but everything is running the way I want (it is a simple program) except for this.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(6,840 Views)

Why are you overwritting the entire each time you capture data?  Set the "Append To File" to TRUE and write the header before the loop.  Then you just have to write your single line inside of the loop.

Even better would be to open/create a file, write the header, and then directly write your data to the text file, and close the file after the loop.  This will make your loop run a little faster since the file stays open instead of opening, writing, and closing each time you add more data.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(6,829 Views)

The reason I am saving each time is because I want the data to save if I have to click stop.

I will try your suggestion soon to make the loop run faster, thank you.

However, I still don't understand why it is adding extra lines in the csv file, but at the same time, it isn't if I am simply displaying the array.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(6,825 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author _natalie_