LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why might my myRIO read non-1kHz analog signal amplitudes incorrectly?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am trying to read an analog waveform created through DDS by an external DS04102C oscilloscope on myRIO. However, I find that the analog signal reads the incorrect voltage if the signal is at a frequency that is not 1kHz. Does anyone here know why that may be?

For instance, I can generate a 1V, 1kHz signal, then read a 1V, 1kHz signal. But if I change the 1kHz to 2kHz, for example, the measured voltage decreases.

I have attached my project below. The project uses the FPGA Target, "FPGA_AnalogReader", and the RT Host, "AnalogSignal_Reader". The FPGA code reads an analog value in the ConnectorC/AI0, then it outputs it to a FIFO to be read in the RT. I have been using a Case Selector to move between methods of timing as I am still learning how to sample Analog. On the RT, I keep the Case Selector on True, then use a value of 6000000 for "A Ticks to wait". The "A" refers to analog. The RT also has a disabled section (commented out) that would be used for Digital sampling.

The RT does scaling of (RawData * 20) / 4096 to convert the raw data value to a voltage.

Let me know if the attached zip folder doesn't work.

- Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,012 Views)

I haven't had a proper look at your code yet (Those are some big block diagrams)

My first guess would be an aliasing issue. Can you check at what data rate your signal is being generated and sampled at

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(1,953 Views)

Hello Niatross, thank you for getting back to me so promptly.

I have updated and reattached the VI project zipfile to this reply so that it would be easier to understand and follow. The block diagrams are smaller, for instance. Please use the "updated_FPGA AnalogReader.vi" target, and the "AnalogSignal_Reader.vi" Host.