LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why do very few programmers use LabVIEW unit labels

I've been developing code for 8 years and once I discovered unit labels I fell in love with them and have used them consistently ever since.  And I have to say, I have never smashed a spaceship into Mars!  However, other coders at my company avoid them and I've never seen example code or instrument drivers that use them.  For instance, if a company has a laser power measurement instrument and provide instrument drivers to return the measured power, why don't they add power units to the output?  It seems so obvious and simple.  Does anyone know why these are not used?
Message 1 of 26
(9,299 Views)

Hi Wise Owl,

I use them from time to time...

But:

The use of unit labels increases the time needed for testing your app. Not all [math] functions support units. Some even give wrong results...

Ever tried to calc the square of "1m" using the square function?

SquareMeter.png

The result is: 1m. Yes, (1m)^2=1m. (Length)^2=Length. Simple physics, eh?

Atleast in LabVIEW. Using a basic MKS-system/SI unit. Using a simple square function.

Message Edited by GerdW on 04-27-2010 08:53 PM
Message Edited by GerdW on 04-27-2010 08:54 PM
Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 26
(9,295 Views)

Wise Owl wrote:
I've been developing code for 8 years and once I discovered unit labels I fell in love with them and have used them consistently ever since.  And I have to say, I have never smashed a spaceship into Mars!  However, other coders at my company avoid them and I've never seen example code or instrument drivers that use them.  For instance, if a company has a laser power measurement instrument and provide instrument drivers to return the measured power, why don't they add power units to the output?  It seems so obvious and simple.  Does anyone know why these are not used?