From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why Does Adding an Event Change Drag And Drop Functionality

On the danger of going on a tangent (after all you were looking for an answer as to why, not work arounds). Does a drag and drop result in a value change event (I have to admit I have no experience with them)? If so, could you do your post-drag-processing in such an event?

0 Kudos
Message 11 of 21
(2,958 Views)

This is going to sound dumb, but the only time a value change event is triggered...is when there is a value change.  So if I perform a drag and drop, and it uses the built in functions, if after the drop a value is different then it was, then a value change is triggered.  If I have 2 items and the 2nd item is selected, then drop a new item between the first and second items, there will be three items with the second being selected.  In this case a value change does not occur.  But if you drop it after the second item, then the third item is selected and a value change occurs.  If you don't use the built in functions, then after a drop nothing happens (other than events getting triggered) and no value change occured, so no value change event is generated.

0 Kudos
Message 12 of 21
(2,935 Views)

Hey there!

So I think your issue is simply that you were discarding the information LV needs to complete its Drag Drop. Most likely contains information about what data is being dragged and where it is located. The snippet and the attached VI should fix the problem.

fixed_dd_snip.png

Message 13 of 21
(2,912 Views)