From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to change Event cycle variable in real time as well

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi... A beginner here. I have a vi that writes value in real time in "VALUE" variable.

1. When I press auto cycle "value" should be updated with random number in every 10 sec span.(6 times)

2. I want to modify my code such that if I give input to "SET VALUE" anytime it should be able to update variable "Value".

3. A value can only have input of set value during particular 10 sec span and after that again value takes random variable for next cycle of 10 sec.  

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(2,083 Views)

You're mixing (at least) 3 paradigms. 

You're

+ polling (control-> indicator)

+ using events (Boolean trigger)

+ looping with timer (time out and wait for multiple).

This won't work well. You can of course mix event driven design and timed loops, but to do it properly (growable, maintainable) you'll have to step up architecture a bit (for instance queued message handler).

Event Structures work best when no event takes significant time to execute. The loop with timing is a mistake. It will ruin event driven design. It can work, if the event should block user interaction until it is done, but that's not what you want.

For now, for learning, you can keep it simple.

I intentionally do not hand you a complete solution.

So, you catch events:

+ The Boolean should trigger automatic updates of the value. 

+ The Set Value should update the value manually.

+ On time out, you can do things.