From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VISA State Machine does not work; feedback node issue

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello;

I am very new to LabVIEW and I am trying to make a program to control two VISA resources at the same time. I realize that some of this may not be designed as well as it could be; please let me know where I can improve. The main VI (RESISTANCE AUTOMATION.vi) requires Resistance Scanner.vi to be complete.

I have a serial instrument (a heated bath that takes basic ASCII commands) and a Data Acquisition unit that is hooked up to a device suspended in the bath that I would like to measure the resistance of once the bath reaches 2 specific user-defined set points. Both devices work just fine when communicating with LabVIEW on their own; the issue is really only with this program that tries to get them to respond to the state of the other.

I have made a state machine that would ideally cycle through the following states once each: Initialize>Look for Set Point 1>Call scanner for SP1>Change to SP2>Look for SP2>Call scanner for SP2>END. This machine is a modification of the Continuous Serial Write and Read example. It should "look" for the correct temperature by writing "RT" (read internal temperature command) to the bath and using the Search String/Char block on the Response indicator it gets to check the current temp. Once this condition is met, it calls the Resistance Scanner sub-VI that I made and saves the resistance measurements from the specified channels to a spreadsheet.