LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VI that calculates sum of random numbers

Hi guys!

I am studying for a midterm and am trying to create a VI that finds the sum and average of 1,000,000 random integers. I want to display the last 5 numbers at least. How would I do that?

I already have the averages figured out, I just need to figure out how to display the last 5 numbers

Thank

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,639 Views)

Your VI does not generate random integers, but random floating point values. There should be very little orange (just near the dice and for the average!).

You should keep the running sum in a shift register.

Use an array of 5 elements in a shift register to track the last five. Use rotate and replace to append new values. Of course your loops spins so fast that there should not be any indicators inside the loop. It is sufficient to display the last five and the average once the loop has completed.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(4,626 Views)

Here's one possibility (note that the last five are not necessarily in the actual order, but that seems irrelevant).

Note that if the random number range is significantly larger or the count much higher, you might want to use I64 instead to prevent overflow in the sum.

Currently, it generates 0..99, but it would be easy to change to 1..100. Modify as needed.

Make sure you understand the use of Quotient&remainder. We basically replace the oldest value with the newest with every iteration of the loop.

You should also make sure that the control has a typical default value (e.g. 1M) before saving.

randoms.png

Message 3 of 16
(4,609 Views)

Even though I never use them (because the don't scale well) an easier solution for the last 5 would be to resize the shift register to show the last 5 elements, then build array and pass out the last value (which would be the last 5)

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 16
(4,566 Views)

@Hooovahh wrote: